Future Earth: A knowledge action network for sustainable development

SASSCAL Executive Director, Dr Jane M Olwoch has been serving as a member of the Interim Steering Committee for  Future Earth Southern Africa since February 2019. The Committee recently released the   Future Earth Regional Office for Southern Africa  (FEROSA) Operational Framework report.

Future Earth Global was founded in 2015 as an international research program designed to provide the knowledge needed to support transformations towards sustainability.  It aims to be an inclusive global research and engagement platform in order to build knowledge about the environmental and human aspects of global change, and to find solutions for sustainable development.


Inauguration of the SASSCAL Council of Ministers

The SASSCAL Ministerial Council held its first Meeting on 26 September 2019. The meeting was held after the signing ceremony of the SASSCAL Treaty and Joint Declaration. The meeting was attended by the host Minister and elected Chair of the Ministerial Council, Honourable Alpheus !Naruseb (Namibia); Honourable Minister; Maria do Rosario Bragança Sambo (Angola); Her Excellency Tshenolo Modise (representing Honourable Minister Mokaila, Botswana); Her Excellency Stella Libongani (representing Hon. Minister Brian Mushimba, Zambia); Prof. Rene Haak (representing Honourable Minister Anja Karliczek, Germany). SASSCAL Governing Board representatives; Mrs. Jane Chinkusu- Board Chair, Hon. Anna Shiweda – Vice Chair, Prof Gabriel Miguel -Board member (Angola) and Mr Balisi Gopolang – alternate Board member (Botswana) were also in attendance and Dr Jane M Olwoch, SASSCAL Executive Director.